Hey all!

Just wanted to give a bit of an update as to where I am in life and stuff right about now. I just started school for the year a few days ago; seems like things are going to go quite well.

I found out my school is likely to be offering a photography class for the year, which I’m definitely going to take. So that’ll mean I’ll be able to post up some really nice cosplay pictures from time to time on here now, too. So I’m excited about that.

Alright, so does anyone know what it’s just a little over one month till?

NYAF (New York Anime Festival) and NYCC (New York Comic Con)!

That’s right! I’m extremely anticipating this year’s con for a number of reasons.

  • Getting to roam around press-style for the amazing Timetoplaymag.com
  • Having a wonderful photographer (my boyfriend, Daniel, who’ll also be blogging here on his anime experiences)
  • Getting to see all of my friends who I only see at conventions
  • Seeing loads of awesome cosplayers and celebrities (read: Junko Takeuchi, Uncle Yo, Felicia Day, etc)
  • Hopefully getting to see a little more of Anime Festival this year.
On that last bullet: I mean, seriously, NYCC–just because we’re the lowly Japanese nerds and we’re a smaller division than your comic section doesn’t mean you can shove us into a corner, give us one or two panel rooms and be done with us! No! We’re not going to take it! *insert song* Anyway, I really want to see if we can get a little more NYAF in this supposed “joint convention”. I really hope so.
NYAF was my first convention. A lot of people last year disliked the fact that we were really shoved in a dark corner and forgotten about, so a lot of people aren’t coming back this year. But I really can’t abandon it this quickly. I’m all into second chances. So let’s see how this goes.

NYCC/NYAF October 13th-16th at the Jacob Javits Center in NYC

Hope to see people there!

-Faith Ciel